2015 Goal Setting!

In my job, I teach farmers about the importance of goal setting and how critical it can be for their farm operation. My husband and I have always set goals for the farm and our financials. But for the first time we set personal goals and family goals and included the kids in the goal setting process.

As I expected, my organized, list loving daughter loved the activity and asked if she could set more than 5 personal goals😀. She like her mother feels great accomplishment when getting her to do list completed! My son was a little more hesitant, did not want to share his aloud, but did enjoy the one on one interaction that he and I shared during the goal setting process. Just like any other life skill, practice makes proficient and hopefully permanent and I pray that goal setting will become second nature to my kids. At 9 and 6 they have more realistic goals than I during my first goal setting exercise in college which included owning half of the farmland in my home county and meeting George Strait! Definitely did not comply with SMART goal setting: S-specific, M-measurable, A-attainable, R-realistic, T-timed!

Hope everyone has a Happy New Year and we look forward to sharing ours with you!

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/806/62397232/files/2015/01/img_0237-0.jpg

Categories: Farm Life | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

