Asparagus Time!

I look forward to springtime for many reasons but one in particular is asparagus!  When we moved to the farm, I had to leave my established asparagus bed…sad. So I had to start over and dig those darn trenches and wait at least another year before I harvested a single spear. But the time has come and I have asparagus to enjoy right now! Asparagus is packed with nutrition and flavor but it’s one of my favorite side dishes because it is so quick and easy to prepare. From the garden to the plate in less than 10 minutes! So this time of year I rarely have a meal without it! I have tried some different recipes this year to add some variety, but my kids like the simple oven roasted asparagus with olive oil, sea salt, a little garlic powder, and pepper the best!  Establishing the asparagus bed was work but I will be enjoying asparagus for the next 10-15 years off this planting!

It's time for asparagus!

It’s time for asparagus!

Categories: Farm Life, Food | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

